Cyclone Center Talk

can't get the cyclone center to work

• Veegee by Veegee

I get a map, I get a box to the right, I get an apparent place where a photo should be but there is
    just a blank box with a symbol in the upper left corner and despite refreshing it a dozen times, nothing
    seems to work. I had the same problem with the seafloor study. I can get into the other places, ie
    galaxies, bubbles etc, but not these two latest, so what gives???

Posted

• zoombob by zoombob

I'm no expert but, looking at the page source it appears that IE version prior to IE9 activates some javascript code.
    If using Internet Explorer versions 6, 7 or 8 and you have Javascript enabled, then it may be a bug in the linked Javascript code.

Posted

• peterthorne by peterthorne moderator

There are known issues (this is third hand info) with several versions of IE. The newest version should work. If you are using an older version something should have popped up. If you have another browser have you tried that?

Posted

• sestevens by sestevens scientist

There has been at least one instance of someone running IE9 on Windows 7 that still wouldn't work, but so far that has been isolated, and most people have had no problem. There are known problems with IE8, and the recommended solution so far (this is from the development team) is simply to use Firefox or Chrome. Keep us updated in this thread, and we'll pass along whatever we can to the development team.

Posted

Just posted on another thread related to issues with the interface:

Hi there, it seems like we have a general issue with IE9 currently. We're working hard on a fix but in the interim please try using Google Chrome or Firefox.

Cheers

Arfon

Posted

• Veegee by Veegee

OK, I downloaded Chrome and it seems to work, must be an IE problem--I have IE 8. Now I just have to
    come to grips that I am rather sucky at this lol, maybe back to classifying galaxies...thanks all

Posted